Baturday 4

Fresh from the oven, this was the prettiest of the three

It may have been a little predictable, given my yen for polymer clay, lately. 😛 When it comes to polymer I always put off baking until I have a reasonable sized batch to bake, but these little guys were baked with two small figurines and that’s all. As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve really been struggling with my pain (which in turn effects energy, concentration,  etc.), so I wasn’t able to get as much done as I’d liked. But that bats are done and that’s the important part =)

The pendant and other earring, not quit as pretty but still cute.

I’d planned to do some experimenting with stamping and heat embossing, but I spent so much time fiddling around getting the shape I didn’t really want to risk it and didn’t have time to make back-up copies. When they were fresh out of the oven I thought they looked quite cute and simple, I liked they’re little bead eyes. I let them cool and then glossed them with some sculpy gloss (They’re made from sculpyIII). I left half an hour between coats and put two coats on, they looked fine when I hung them to dry last night. I got up this morning and found the gloss had gone.. weird. My best guess is the gloss somehow became aerated and that’s what’s caused the white patchyness. A little voice in my head tried to be optimistic, “it might be kinda pretty, it looks somewhat distressed”, but no.. It’s just patchy. Needless to say it’s disappointing, and strange considering I glossed the figurines and they look fine (they’re not black, though, so maybe it isn’t as obvious). JJ’s suggested I attack them with black paint, which I might try. But it was a good experiment/learning experience for me; hopefully I’ll get better with practise.

I love this black chain, I’ve been saving it. The white areas aren’t shineyness, that’s the patchy gloss.

Earrings turned out quite well despite the gloss.

So I’m sure you’ll be seeing more polymer clay soon, I’ve got some shinies in the works. I might re-visit polymer on another Baturday further down the track when I have a little more experience. But for now, this is polymer Baturday ^_^.

I’m also lucky enough to have a wonderful partner who cooked dinner and dessert so I could have the time to push through my pain and focus on my work. This includes banana and oat pancakes topped with stewed apples (from our own tree), cinnamon and maple syrup *foodgasm*. Yup, I’m spoilt!

ohmnomnomnomnomnomnom!

4 responses to “Baturday 4

  1. Hi Kowareta, I am self-taught (still learning!) and a great believer in the Bob Ross philosophy of “We don’t make mistakes just happy little accidents!” Your bats look grand, they definitely have character 🙂

    • haha thank you very much =) I did try to see the positive, but I was a bit down about them. I have a tendency to be a bit of a perfectionist and I’ve been repeating a little mantra to myself “It’s not supposed to be perfect, it’s supposed to be handmade” ^_^

  2. Pingback: My Rats in Miniature | The Crafty Cripple·

  3. Pingback: Polymer Play | The Crafty Cripple·

Leave a Reply

