Baturday 7

Recycled magazine strips and glue! ta-daaaa!

A recycled magazine bat ^_^

This one took me a little longer than I’d like, but I think that’s probably because I have to wrap so many layers (especially the circular areas) and it’s so small the details took some fiddling.
I was planning to paint it, but both JJ and I like it unpainted. I kinda based it off a basket I made, mentioned in this post, and that thing took forever, so it was nice to do something smaller. I was also trying to get some ideas from quilling, although very little came up when I searched for “quilled bat”. I did find this page which I ended-up following for the wings using some pins stuck into my sewing box for the “husking”.

Just giving an idea of the size ๐Ÿ™‚

I’d like to try making some variations at some point. I really like the idea of make some difference sizes, styles, and phases of flight, and having a small murder put up as wall hangings.

Anywho, that’s this week’s Baturday ๐Ÿ™‚
I’ve got quite a bit of blogging to catch-up on, but I’m preparing to move and, well, it’s winter, so I’m in slow-mode. ๐Ÿ˜›
You may have noticed that I’ve made some visual changes to my blog, I’m hoping it’ll look a lot nicer like this, but feel free to give me you opinion. It is still kinda under construction, but I think it’s looking okay =)

3 responses to “Baturday 7

  1. Happy baturday to you! I like the black background very cave like! Find the text a bit harder to read maybe something more florescent would suit my eyes better. Heading over to JJs now !

    • Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€ And yeah, I agree. I’ve been noticing within the actual posts that the title and body text are kind of grey and it’s really not nice on the eyes, but I haven’t found a way to alter the colour, I might have the change the background colour.
      I hope you enjoy JJ’s photography, he’s self-taught but really has a good eye. Although I’m proud to say I took the photos for this post and I think I might be learning from him. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • He does have a good eye, I like his use of colour. Am no photographer myself which makes things tricky when trying to get best image for my blog…. maybe he can blog some of the tips he’s given to you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

