Safety in an Unsafe World

One of the many wonderful women on a facebook group I’m in has an amazing idea. As someone with social anxiety I can really see the value in these devices, and the potential for beautiful, functional designs. These would appealing for everyone, not just abuse victims and sufferers of social anxiety. 🙂

Physically Challenged Artists Support Group

safetyinanunsafeworld

Hello, my name is Victoria Penta, I am a disabled jewelry designer and beginning metalsmith. I would like to thank Laurien for allowing me to write for all of you.

One night I woke up from a dream about those Life Alert devices and immediately thought I can make them pretty (for those that don’t know, Life Alert is a company in the U.S. that supplies buttons to disabled and elderly people that when pressed call for emergency services.). I did some research and found out that they can only be used in the home and was disappointed, then I looked into personal alarms and found all these ugly, bulky, plastic things that I knew women would never use. The next day I was at my mother’s house with my cousin and sister and I told them about the dream and how I was upset that I couldn’t do anything…

View original post 386 more words

Leave a Reply

